SOUTHERN STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE PRESS RELEASE December 17, 2019



CUTLINE: The 13th graduating class of Southern State Community College's Respiratory Care program includes Back row (L to R) Tristan Lynch (Highland), Amanda Watts (Warren), Andrew Rieder (Ross), Chyane Collins (Program Director), Nikki Dato (Director of Clinical Education), Ashley MacDowell (Highland), Natasha Holloway (Fayette), and Brittany Woods (Highland) Front row (L to R) Miranda Beavers (Pike), Mikaela Gearhart (Ross), Jami Conway-Flint (Fayette), Alexis Newman (Clinton), and Lauren Sells (Highland).

SSCC Respiratory Care celebrates graduation

Southern State Community College honored the 13th graduating class of the Respiratory Care program during a Dec. 7 ceremony on the college's Central Campus in Hillsboro.

Program graduates include Tristan Lynch, Amanda Watts, Andrew Rieder, Ashley MacDowell, Natasha Holloway, Brittany Woods, Miranda Beavers, Mikaela Gearhart, Jami Conway-Flint, Alexis Newman, and Lauren Sells.

The SSCC Respiratory Care Club was able to award a total of \$5,115 in scholarships to the 11 graduates (divided evenly) to pay their national credentialing examinations and state licensure.

Recognition was given to the following Clinical Preceptor of the Year award recipients: Jessica Barreras of Highland District Hospital, Nick Burkholder of Genesis Respiratory Services, Sidney Clark of Miami Valley Hospital, Karen Cress of Mercy Health

Clermont Hospital, Jackie Dotson of Littleton's Respiratory HomeCare, Ron Frei of Dayton Children's Hospital, Amanda Fosbrink of Clinton Memorial Hospital, Amy Getter of Atrium Medical Center, Hannah Husted of Grant Medical Center, Andrew Jennings of Riverside Methodist Hospital, Jessica Linder of Miami Valley Hospital, Jenny Lower of Adena Regional Medical Center, Michelle Munyon of Fayette County Memorial Hospital, Tracey Rexroad of VA Medical Center, Mark Rinehart of Berger Hospital, Korre Schoffner of Greene Memorial Hospital, all Respiratory Therapists at Nationwide Children's Hospital and all Respiratory Therapists at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical.

Most Influential Clinical Preceptor awards were awarded to Karen Cress of Clermont Mercy Hospital (nominated by Ashley MacDowell), Chuck Dailey of Adena Regional Medical Center (nominated by Andrew Rieder), Amy Getter of Atrium Medical Center (nominated by Tristan Lynch and Amanda Watts), John Lopez of Greene Memorial Hospital (nominated by Alexis Newman), Jenny Lower of Adena Regional Medical Center (nominated by Jami Conway-Flint), Kasie McMahon of Adena Regional Medical Center (nominated by Brittany Woods), Chris Meade of Grant Medical Center (nominated by Mikaela Gearhart and Natasha Holloway), Zach Paulson of Grant Medical Center (nominated by Lauren Sells), and Mark Rinehart of Berger Hospital (nominated by Miranda Beavers).

###

Southern State Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. The following people have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies:

James Bland, Vice President of Student Affairs & Enrollment Management | Title IX Lead Coordinator 100 Hobart Drive, Hillsboro, OH 45133 | <u>ibland@sscc.edu</u> | 800.628.7722, Ext. 2510

Mindy Markey-Grabill, Director of Human Resources | Title IX Coordinator 100 Hobart Drive, Hillsboro, OH 45133 | mmarkey@sscc.edu | 800.628.7722, Ext. 2550