The Center for Excellence in Teaching and LearningInstructional Technology's Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

Web Accessibility Standards

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) were developed in cooperation with individuals and organizations around the world. These guidelines cover a wide range of recommendations for making Web content more accessible.

Following these guidelines will make content accessible to a wider range of people with disabilities, including blindness and low vision, deafness and hearing loss, learning disabilities, cognitive limitations, limited movement, speech disabilities, photosensitivity and combinations of these.

What is in WCAG 2.0

WCAG 2.0 has 12 guidelines that are organized under 4 principles: perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust. View WebAIM's WCAG 2.0 Checklist for a easy to read list of guidelines.

Who develops WCAG

The WCAG technical documents are developed by the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Working Group (WCAG WG), which is part of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI).

Learn More

See the WCAG 2 FAQ for more information.